The Curriculum


The ‘basic’ school curriculum includes the ‘national curriculum’, as well as religious education and sex education.

The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.

Other types of school like academies and private schools don’t have to follow the national curriculum. Academies must teach a broad and balanced curriculum including English, maths and science. They must also teach religious education.

At Tarleton Holy Trinity CE Primary School, we base our Curriculum on the Lancashire Curriculum, which the local Education Authority published in response to the changes made to the National Curriculum in 2014. We have made some changes to the Lancashire Curriculum so that the topic areas reflect our unique school and the times of the year. In our Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1 we use the LCP Synthetic Phonics scheme. To see our Curriculum Intent statement click here or on the link below.

The school follows the Religious Education Syllabus devised by Blackburn Diocese and incorporates a wide range of topics centred on Christian teaching. Lessons include many aspects of the Christian faith including increasing the knowledge of the Bible; relating religious teaching to current society and understanding the significance of main events in the church’s calendar. The syllabus also provided opportunities for children to explore Christianity around the world and in other cultures; a multi-faith approach.

Our reading scheme is largely based around the Oxford Reading Tree scheme, supplemented by a wide range of other books, including some from the Project X Scheme.

All our Curriculum Maps and Topic Letters can be viewed by ‘clicking’ on the links below:

Curriculum Intent Statement

Reception Class Curriculum

Reception Class Topic Letter Autumn 2020

Reception Class Topic Letter Spring 2019

Reception Class Topic Letter Summer 2019

Year 1 Curriculum

Year 1 Topic Letter Autumn 2020

Year 1 Topic Letter Spring 2019

Year 1 Topic Letter Summer 2021

Year 2 Curriculum

Year 2 Topic Letter Autumn 2020

Year 2 Topic Letter Spring 2019

Year 2 Topic Letter Summer 2021

Year 3 Curriculum

Year 3 Topic Letter Autumn 2020

Year 3 Topic Letter Spring 2019

Year 3 Topic Letter Summer 2021

Year 4 Curriculum

Year 4 Topic Letter Autumn 2020

Year 4 Topic Letter Spring 2019

Year 4 Topic Letter Summer 2021

Year 5 Curriculum

Year 5 Topic Letter Autumn 2020

Year 5 Topic Letter Spring 2019

Year 5 Topic Letter Summer 2021

Year 6 Curriculum

Year 6 Topic Letter Autumn 2020

Year 6 Topic Letter Spring 2019

Year 6 Topic Letter Summer 2021

Worship Plans Spring 2019

Primary School Key stages

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, the teacher will formally assess your child’s performance.

Age Year Key stage Assessment
3 to 4 Early years
4 to 5 Reception Early years Teacher assessments (there’s also a Baseline assessment at the start of the year, which is repeated at the end of the year)
5 to 6 Year 1 KS1 Phonics screening check
6 to 7 Year 2 KS1 National tests and teacher assessments in English, maths and science

Catch up phonics screening check

7 to 8 Year 3 KS2
8 to 9 Year 4 KS2
9 to 10 Year 5 KS2
10 to 11 Year 6 KS2 National tests and teacher assessments in English (Reading and GPS) and maths, and teacher assessments in writing science